NSF award to support research excellence and diversity in AMO physics

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded the Department of Physics a three-year, $900,000 grant. The project will be led by the Principle Investigator, Dr. Hebin Li (FIU), and co-Principle Investigators, Dr. Eric Cornell (JILA), Dr. Bernard Gertsman (FIU), Dr. Jin He (FIU), and Dr. Yifu Zhu (FIU), and a team of senior investigators from both FIU Physics and JILA Physics Frontier Center.  This project aims to form a strategic partnership between the Department of Physics at Florida International University (FIU) and the JILA Physics Frontier Center (JILA PFC) in the JILA institute to promote and advance diversity and research excellence in AMO physics at both institutions. The research goals will be achieved through two major research thrusts (ultra-cold atomic physics and single-molecule biophysics) that are designed to leverage the world-class experts at JILA PFC as well as the existing research capabilities at FIU. This partnership will advance research in AMO physics and improve the diversity of graduate students in both institutions.